Multi-tasking

I’ve never felt very comfortable just concentrating on one task at a time. This quote by Geoff Dyer (featured in a great article in the Guardian about top tips by writers) sums up well how I feel about my projects….

Geoff Dyer: Have more than one idea on the go at any one time. If it’s a choice between writing a book and doing nothing I will always choose the latter. It’s only if I have an idea for two books that I choose one rather than the other. I ­always have to feel that I’m bunking off from something.

Someone asked me the other day exactly how many projects I’ve got on the go at the moment. I was a bit shocked when – as I was reeling them off – I realised how many there were:

I’ve spent much of 2010 considering that it’s probably better to be doing fewer things but doing them better. So I’m scaling back the projects I’m working on, which is why I’m looking for someone to take over the Roath Cardiff twitter feed, and also why I’m currently seeking a literary agent to help with the writing projects, which are ultimately what I’d like to focus on. (A quick update to this – I’ve found one. More on this and him soon).

It’s also why hackflash has proved to be such a succesful venture thus far. When I run out of steam, I’m spurred on by the steam of others.

The new hackflash project We Are Cardiff is shaping up to be a pretty good one. The first story is now online (told by the lovely and inspirational Neil Cocker) You should go over there and volunteer to take part if you currently live in Cardiff.

Leave a Reply

